Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Black Power in DixieA Political History of African Americans in Atlanta$

Alton Hornsby Jr.

Print publication date: 2009

Print ISBN-13: 9780813032825

Published to Florida Scholarship Online: September 2011

DOI: 10.5744/florida/9780813032825.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM FLORIDA SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.florida.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright University Press of Florida, 2017. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in FLASO for personal use (for details see http://www.florida.universitypressscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy). Subscriber: null; date: 26 February 2017

(p.249) Appendix African American Influentials in Atlanta, 1950–1990

(p.249) Appendix African American Influentials in Atlanta, 1950–1990

Black Power in Dixie
University Press of Florida

Power Brokers

Ralph Abernathy, civil rights leader

Walter (Chief ) Aiken, businessman

T. M. Alexander, businessman

William (Bill) Allison, businessman

Miles Amos, businessman, Democratic Party leader Marvin Arrington, city councilman

Clarence Albert (C. A.) Bacote, educator

Harold I. (H. I.) Bearden, minister, NAACP official

Jesse B. (J. B.) Blayton, businessman

Julian Bond, state senator

William Holmes Borders, minister, civil rights leader John Calhoun, businessman

William (Bill) Campbell, city councilman, later mayor

Xernona Clayton, TV personality and executive

Rufus E. Clement, educator, school board member

Warren R. Cochrane, YMCA official

John Cox, YMCA official

John Wesley Dobbs, fraternal leader

Shirley Franklin, city official, future mayor

Grace Towns Hamilton, Urban League official, state representative

C. L. Harper, educator

Geneva Haugabrooks, businesswoman

Vivian Henderson, educator

Jesse Hill, businessman

Donald Hollowell, attorney

Ira Jackson, businessman, city councilman

(p.250) Maynard Jackson Jr., mayor

B. Joseph Johnson, minister

Leroy Johnson, state senator

Ingrid Saunders Jones, city official, businesswoman

Vernon Jordan, civil rights leader

Barbara King, minister

Coretta Scott King, civil rights leader

Lonnie King, civil rights leader

Martin Luther King Sr., minister, civil rights leader John Lewis, civil rights leader

Michael Lomax, city, county official

Joseph Lowery, minister, civil rights leader

E. M. Martin, businessman

Benjamin E. Mays, educator, school board member

Joseph Middleton, educator, school board member

Lorimer (L. D.) Milton, businessman

James Paschal, businessman

Charles Reynolds, businessman

Herman Russell, businessman

Cornelius A. (C. A.) Scott, publisher

Lyndon A. Wade, Urban League official

Austin Thomas (A. T.) Walden, attorney, civil rights leader

Carl Ware, businessman

Samuel W. Williams, minister, educator, NAACP leader

Q. V. Williamson, businessman, city councilman

Johnnie Yancey, community activist

Clayton R. (C. R.) Yates, businessman

Andrew Young, civil rights leader, mayor

Grassroots Leaders

Dorothy Bolden, labor leader

Joseph Boone, minister, civil rights leader Ella Mae Brayboy, community activist Tyrone Brooks, state representative Benjamin Brown, state representative

Ted Clark, minister

Mukasa Dada (Willie Ricks), community activist Emma Darnell, city, county official

(p.251) Jan Douglas, community activist

A. Reginald Eaves, police commissioner

M. Carl Holman, educator

Jondelle Johnson, NAACP leader

Susie LaBord, community activist

Ethel Mae Mathews, community activist

Sandra Robertson, community activist

Mary Sanford, community activist

Hildred Shumake, state representative

“Able” Mable Thomas, state representative

J. Lowell Ware, publisher

Louise Whatley, community activist

Hosea Williams, civil rights leader, city councilman, state representative