Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Fernando AlonsoThe Father of Cuban Ballet$

Toba Singer

Print publication date: 2013

Print ISBN-13: 9780813044026

Published to Florida Scholarship Online: September 2013

DOI: 10.5744/florida/9780813044026.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM FLORIDA SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.florida.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright University Press of Florida, 2017. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in FLASO for personal use (for details see http://www.florida.universitypressscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy). Subscriber: null; date: 26 February 2017

(p.211) Appendix E Selected BNC-Commissioned Repertoire Works, 1959–1974

(p.211) Appendix E Selected BNC-Commissioned Repertoire Works, 1959–1974

Fernando Alonso
University Press of Florida

Among the most outstanding were Carmen, El guije (1967), and La rumba (1968), and Primera conjugación (1970) (changed to Conjugación) by Alberto Alonso; Tarde en la siesta (1973) and El rio y el bosque (1973) by Alberto Méndez; “Rítmicas” (1973) by Iván Tenorio; Sinfonía latinoamericana (1959) by Enrique Martínez; and Calaucán (1962) by Patricio Bunster.

Other pieces were El sombrero de tres picos, by Rodolfo Rodríguez after Diaghilev, Majísimo by Jorge García, Espacio y movimiento by Alberto Alonso, Bach por 11 igual a cuatro por A, Plásmasis, and Nos vemos ayer noche Margarita by Alberto Mendez, Edipo rey by Jorge Lefevre, Canto vital by Azari Plisetsky, and the four-act Mary Skeaping version of The Sleeping Beauty.